Hello Audience!

Welcome back to my page a day story of 2013 Challenge! We are now on Page 2!

If you have yet to read Page 1, you should mosie off and read it –here– and then you’ll be all caught up!

***DISCLAIMER***
Prepare to have the urge to rip your eyes our, fellow OCD readers, for the amount of typos you will encounter in this passage is going to BLOW YOUR MIND! At some point here soon, I may decide to go in and edit it properly, but for now I’m just going to let it ride =3

If you’re all caught up, without further ado, I present to you Page 2 of my 365 page book.

———–

The silence that followed Leighton’s words was palpable. “A…a w-werewolf?” Ryker looked down at his blood soaked body. “What…what the hell? Lei, werewolves don’t exist!” Leighton looked into his eyes. She looked sad, Ryker thought, and more than a little scared, but not crazy.

She nodded. “They do. I need for you to trust me on this, Ryker. Werewolves, vampires, fae, they’re all real.” She held out her hand. “Can you stand?”

Ryker nodded and grasped her hand. With some effort, he was standing beside her. His heart was pounding. With what emotion? He didn’t know. “Okay…so…paranormal beings. They’re real?”

Leighton nodded again. “And the more you believe, the better for the both of us.”

Ryker didn’t believe. These tings don’t exist. He knew that. But Leighton sounded sincere, and that unnerved him. “Leighton, are you okay? Did you hit your read or something?”

Leighton brushed her lank hair away from her glowing eyes. “No, Ryker. I am not okay, nor did I ‘bump my head’.” She glared pointedly at him. “I know you don’t believe me. I can smell your doubt. I don’t expect you to. But just hear me out on this. Please?” Ryker didn’t know what to say or do, so he just nodded. She seemed satisfied with that response. “Good, but now we have to move. We’ve been here too long. The Hunt will be here soon.” She set off to the treeline.

“The hunt?” Ryker asked, following behind. He couldn’t help but stare at Leighton as she sauntered purposefully for cover. Her curves were slight, and her long black hair glistened in the moonlight as it danced with her stride. The blood marking her naked fair skin shone like rubies set into pale alabaster.

“Not ‘hunt’. Hunt,” Leighton corrected. “Proper noun. It’s the name of a werewolf route. Fiction novels call us ‘packs’, but that’s a label better suited for regular wolves. The Hunt’s Raja–their Alpha–can tell when one of his pups, called ‘kiriks’, draws blood. They’ll be here soon.”

“Why are we running from your Hunt? Can’t they help us?” Ryker inquired, stepping over a snaking tree root as they strode into the forestry.

“No. If they find us like this, they’ll kill me. And then you.” Ryker’s stomach twisted at the thought. “They cannot find out, at least, not until we find a good cover.”

“How do you know? What if I’m not a werewolf?” Ryker asked.

“You are.” Leighton stopped. “Lycanthropy is like a disease or poison if rejected. When a human is attacked by a werewolf, one of two things will happen. One, the human’s body will reject the infection, and they’ll die painfully, or two, their body will accept the infection and begin the process of changing the human’s chemical makeup into that of a lycanthrope, like fast healing. That’s why you woke up with no wounds. Your body accepted the Change.” She said “Change” like she said “Hunt”, with an emphasis that could only be given to proper nouns. “Do you still have that headache? That pain?”

Ryker took the time to assess his body. He was shocked to notice that he didn’t have a headache anymore, he didn’t really hurt at all. “No.”

Leighton nodded. “Another side effect of the change. You’ll feel great for a while.”

“A while?”

“Well you can’t expect and entire change in species to go effortlessly, can you?”

He shrugged. “I can hope.”

Leighton shook her head and began walking once more. “The seven days leading up to your first full moon will be the worst you’ve ever lived. The Hunt calls it ‘The Dying Bay of the Rising Wolf’, because it feels like you’re dying, to be reborn as a werewolf. It ends with your first Change on the night of Mangetsu–the Full Moon.”

“What will stop them? From finding us, I mean. If your Alpha can sense his ‘kickies’, or whatever you called them, what’s to stop him from finding us wherever we go?”

Leighton sailed over a fallen tree trunk with a grace that left Ryker scrambling to keep up. “Kiriks, not kickies. And I said he can sense when we draw blood. The Raja isn’t some weird Big Brother type. He’ll go to where he sensed the blood was spilled, and send his brigade of officers, the “Ryodan”, out to track us by scent.”

Ryker’s head was spinning with all of the new terminology. Could Leighton really be making all of this up on the spot? “Can you outrun the Raja?”

Leighton shook her head. “Not for too long. We can throw him off of our trail for a while. Run through some rivers or take a cab to cut off our scent trail.” She looked bleak. “But that won’t stop him forever.”

“What are we doing right now?” Ryker asked. He watched as Leighton dipped low to the ground. He couldn’t stop himself from trailing his gaze over the swell of her bare hips, speckled with the light of the moon shining through tree tops. Her skin seemed–

“Stop staring at me!”

Leighton’s exclamation startled Ryker out of his reverie, and he could feel the heat of blush snaking it’s way across his cheeks. “I…sorry.” He averted his gaze, as she stood.

“Look, I’ll get clothes as soon as I can. I shredded what I was wearing before.” She turned back to Ryker, making an effort to cover her privy areas. “I know this is all very weird to you. Waking up bloody in a field to your girlfriend fretting around naked on what was supposed to be your first date with her just isn’t normal. And the fact that not only is she a werewolf, but now you are as well cannot be making your time with me any better.”

“No, no. It’s fine,” Ryker replied.

“You don’t have to lie to me, Ryker. I can smell your disbelief.” She sounded indignant.

Ryker sighed. “Look. You gotta admit, all of this sounds pretty far fetched, but I’m trying to deal here. A few hours ago, I was just a normal guy getting ready to go out on a date with his almost girlfriend. Before I know it, I’m waking up to her, naked and splattered in blood, and all you have to say is that we’re werewolves with nothing to prove it by. Am I really supposed to believe this story your spilling?”

Leighton looked over her shoulder, listening to something far off that Ryker couldn’t hear. Turning back, her gaze was shining with apprehension. “Okay, okay, I get it. And I’ll prove it to you. I’ll prove it all, but first we have to get out of here.”

Ryker paused a beat, not sure what to believe. After a moment, he gave one slow nod. “Okay.”

Leighton exhaled a sigh of relief. “Thank you.”

“So…now what?” Ryker asked.

Leighton turned. “Now? We run.” She bounded into the forest of trees, Ryker hustling to keep her in sight.

Typed in: Written? Kitten!

